AFT Guild, Local 1931 – November 2010 Election Endorsements

Please forward this message to all of your friends and family members in your personal address book and social networks…

AFT Guild, Local 1931 – November 2010 Election Endorsements

Community College/School Boards
Grossmont-Cuyamaca, Seat 1—Edwin Hiel
Grossmont-Cuyamaca, Seat 2—Debbie Justeson
Southwestern, Seat 4—Norma Hernandez
Southwestern, Seat 5—Tim Nader
San Diego Unified, District B—Kevin Beiser

State of California
Governor—Jerry Brown
Superintendent of Public Instruction—Tom Torlakson
U.S. Senate 
—Barbara Boxer

State Propositions
Prop 24 (Repeal Corporate Tax Loopholes)—YES
Prop 25 (Simple Majority State Budget-No Pay for Legislators)—YES

State of California
Lieutenant Governor—Gavin Newsom
Attorney General—Kamala Harris
Secretary of State—Debra Bowen
Treasurer—Bill Lockyer
Controller—John Chiang
Insurance Commissioner—Dave Jones
Assembly District 74—Crystal Crawford
Assembly District 76—Toni Atkins
Assembly District 77—Mark Hanson
Assembly District 78—Marty Block
Assembly District 79—Ben Hueso
Assembly District 80—Manuel Perez
Senate District 36—Paul Clay
Senate District 40—Juan Vargas

Chula Vista City Council Seat 2—Pat Aguilar
El Cajon Mayor—Mark Lewis
Escondido City Council—Jason Everitt
Imperial Beach City Council—Ed Spriggs
La Mesa City Council—Patrick Dean
National City Mayor—Alejandra Sotelo-Solis
National City Council—Mona Rios & Luis Natividad
Oceanside City Council—Charles Lowery
San Diego City Council District 6—Howard Wayne
San Diego City Council District 8—Felipe Hueso
Santee City Council—John Ryan, John Minto & Janet Enright

Community College District Boards
Imperial, Area 2—Peter Martinez
Imperial, Area 5—Norma Sierra Galindo
Imperial, Area 7—Steven Taylor
Mira Costa, Area 7—William Fischer
Palomar Community—Paul McNamara

County of Imperial
Board of Supervisors District 1—John Renison
Board of Supervisors District 5—Raymond Castillo
Clerk/Recorder—Jacklin Colon

County of San Diego
Board of Supervisors District 4—Stephen Whitburn
Board of Supervisors District 5—Steve Gronke
Assessor/Recorder/Clerk—David Butler
Superior Court Seat 20—Richard Monroy

Other Local Districts
Alpine Fire Protection District—Jim Archer
Imperial Irrigation District, Division 1—Rudy Maldonado
Lakeside Fire Protection District—Peter Liebig, Susan Conniry, & Milton Cyphert
Otay Water District, Division 1—Chris Schilling
San Miguel Fire District—Jim Custeau, Kandhy Franklin, Jeff Nelson (vote for 3)
South Bay Irrigation District, Division 4—David Bensoussan
Tri-City Healthcare District—Ira Landis, Cyril Kellett, & Doreen Gounaris

School Boards
Alpine Union School—Jim Archer
Calexico Unified—Ruth Duarte & Tony Valenzuela
Central Union High School—Sean Arviso
Chula Vista Elementary, Seat 3—Francisco Sevilla
Chula Vista Elementary, Seat 5—Nick Segura
National School—Ted Godshalk & Elizabeth Vasquez
Poway Unified—Kimberley Beatty
Sweetwater Union High School, Seat 1—Karen Janney
Sweetwater Union High School, Seat 3—Hector Rivera

Local Propositions
Prop A (Ban on County Government PLAs)—NO
Prop B (San Diego City Attorney Protection)—YES
Prop C (North San Diego Planning Amendment)—Neutral
Prop D (Protect Public Safety and Services in San Diego)—YES
Prop G (Carlsbad Permanent Pension Freeze)—NO
Prop H (Chula Vista Utility User Tax Modernization)—YES
Prop J (San Diego Unified Schools Teacher Retention)—YES
Prop K (San Marcos School Bond)—Neutral
Prop L (Julian School Bond)—Neutral
Prop M (Dehesa School Bond)—Neutral
Prop O (South Bay Union Teacher Retention)—YES
Prop P (Encinitas School Bond)—Neutral

State Propositions
Prop 19 (Regulate, Control and Tax Marijuana)—Neutral
Prop 20 (Congressional Redistricting Overhaul)—NO
Prop 21 (Protect State Parks)—YES
Prop 22 (League of Cities Budget Proposal)—Neutral
Prop 23 (Suspend Air Pollution Laws)—NO
Prop 24 (Repeal Costly Corporate Tax Loopholes)—YES
Prop 25 (Simple Majority State Budget)—YES
Prop 26 (New Budget Restrictions)—NO
Prop 27 (Eliminate Redistricting Commission)—YES

For other statewide endorsements not listed above click here: