Don’t let the rains wash out your vote! (11/01/2022)

Dear Colleagues,

Don’t let tomorrow’s predicted rain storm wash away your vote!

Drop off your ballot or vote in person TODAY at a local Vote Center.  Click here to locate the Vote Center near you.

You can also mail your ballot as long as it is postmarked by November 8, 2022 and received by November 15, 2022. Don’t forget to sign the envelope!

Track your ballot with the “Where’s My Ballot” tool. Click here to sign up!


Whether you cast your ballot at a Vote Center or by mail – make a plan to vote!

And, ICYMI, below are our election recommendations…

In Solidarity,
Jim Mahler, President
AFT Guild, Local 1931

Dear Colleagues,

Please find below our election recommendations as voted on by either our local AFT Guild, our statewide CFT, or the San Diego and Imperial Counties Labor Council.

If a race is not listed here it means we have not taken a position on it and therefore cannot provide you with any guidance. This really is the entire list of all endorsements. Really.

In Solidarity,
Jim Mahler, President
AFT Guild, Local 1931

Top Priority Races:
Grossmont Cuyamaca Community College District 1 – esiree Klaar (AFT Guild Member)
Grossmont Cuyamaca Community College District 2 – Debbie Justeson (former AFT Guild Member)
Grossmont Union High School District 3 – Gabriel Lawson & Hart-Lloyd (AFT Guild Members)
Grossmont Union High School District 4 – Jeanie Tyler (AFT Guild Member)
Grossmont Union High School District 5 – Terry Kohlenberg & Nancy Jennings (AFT Guild Members)
Palomar Community College District 1 – Judy Patacsil (AFT Guild Member)
La Mesa-Spring Valley School District 1 – Caitlin Tiffany (AFT Guild Member)>
La Mesa-Spring Valley School District 2 – Rebecca McRae
La Mesa-Spring Valley School District 3 – Brianna Coston
San Diego County Board of Education District 3 -Alicia Muñoz (former AFT Guild Member)
San Diego County Board of Education District 5 – Rick Shea
National City Mayor – Jose Rodriguez (former AFT Guild Student Intern)

Other Education Board Endorsed Races 
Palomar Community College District 4 – Kartik Raju
Palomar Community College District 5 – Norma Miyamoto
Southwestern Community College District 4 – Mae Case
Southwestern Community College District 5 – Don Dumas
San Diego Unified School District B – Shana Hazan
San Diego Unified School District C – Cody Petterson
Carlsbad Unified School District 5 – Kathy Rallings
Chula Vista Elementary District 1 – Francisco Tamayo
Chula Vista Elementary District 3 – Leslie Bunker
Chula Vista Elementary District 5 – Cesar Fernandez
Oceanside Unified School District 1 – Nancy Licona
San Dieguito School Board Trustee Area 5 – Julie Bronstein
South Bay Union School District 2 – Jose Lopez Eguino
Sweetwater Union High School District 3 – Elva Lopez-Zepeda
Sweetwater Union High School District 5 – Marti Emerald
Sweetwater Union High School District 1 – Arturo Solis
Vista Unified School District 2 – Rena Marrocco
Vista Unified School District 3 – Martha Alvarado

Local Ballot Measures
Measure A – Cannabis Business Tax Unincorporated Areas – YES
Measure B – Allows City of SD to Charge for Trash Pickup – YES
Measure C – Removes 30-foot Height Limit in Midway-Pacific Highway Community Planning Area – YES
Measure D – Allows the Use of Project Labor Agreements on City of SD Construction Projects – YES
Measure H – Allows Childcare Activities at Recreation Facilities and Buildings in Dedicated Park Property Owned by the City of SD – YES
Measure U – San Diego Unified School District Facilities Bond – YES

Statewide Ballot Measures
Prop 1 – Constitutional Right to Reproductive Freedom – YES
Prop 26 – Allows In-Person Roulette, Dice Games, Sports Wagering on Tribal Lands – NEUTRAL
Prop 27 – Allows Online Sports Wagering Outside Tribal Lands – NO
Prop 28 – Provides Additional Funding for Arts and Music Education in Public Schools – YES
Prop 29- Requires On-Site Licensed Medical Professional at Kidney Dialysis Clinics – NO
Prop 30- Provides Funding for Programs to Reduce Air Pollution and Prevent Wildfires by Increasing Tax on Personal Income Over $2M – NO
Prop 31- Referendum on 2020 Law that Would Prohibit the Retail Sale of Certain Flavored Tobacco Products – YES

County of San Diego
Board of Supervisors District 4 – Nathan Fletcher
Board of Supervisors District 5 – Tiffany Boyd-Hodgson
County Assessor/Recorder/Clerk – Barbara Bry

Superior Court Judge
Seat #35 – Rebecca Kanter
Seat #36 – Peter Singer

Community Planning Commissions
San Diego Community Planning District 8 – Shane Parmely
Spring Valley Community Planning – Chris Pearson

City of San Diego
City Council District 2 – Dr. Jennifer Campbell
City Council District 4 – Monica Montgomery Steppe
City Council District 6 – Kent Lee

City of Carlsbad
City Council District 1 – Sam Ward
City Council District 3 – Priya Bhat-Patel

City of Chula Vista
Mayor – Ammar Campa Najjar
City Council District 1 – Carolina Chavez
City Council District 2 – Jose Preciado

City of Encinitas
Mayor – Tony Kranz

City of Escondido
Mayor – Paul McNamara
City Council District 1 – Consuelo Martinez
City Council District 2 – Jeff Griffith

City of Imperial Beach
Mayor – Paloma Aguirre
City Council District 1 – Jen Crumley
City Council District 3 – Anna Webb

City of La Mesa
City Council At-Large – Patricia Dillard
City Council At-Large – Mejgan Afshan

City of Lemon Grove
City Council At-Large – Jennifer Mendoza
City Council At-Large – Alysson Snow

City of National City
Mayor – Jose Rodriguez
City Council District 1 – Luz Molina
City Council District 3 – Ditas Yamane

City of Oceanside
City Council District 1 – Eric Joyce
City Council District 2 – Daniel Dominguez

City of San Marcos
Mayor – Randy Walton
City Council District 1 – Maria Nuñez
City Council District 3 – Jay Petrek

City of Vista
Mayor – Cipriano Vargas
City Council District 4 – Dan O’Donnell

Special Districts
Helix Water District, Division 2 – Andrea Beth Damsky
Otay Water District Division 3 – Gary Croucher
North County Fire Protection District 1 – Ross Pike

Local State & Federal Races
Assembly District 74 – Chris Duncan
Assembly District 76 – Brian Maienschein
Assembly District 77 – Tasha Boerner-Horvath
Assembly District 78 – Chris Ward
Assembly District 79 – Akilah Weber
Senate District 18 – Steve Padilla
Senate District 38 – Catherine Blakespear
Senate District 40 – Joseph Rocha
Congressional District 49 – Mike Levin
Congressional District 51- Sarah Jacobs
Congressional District 52 – Juan Vargas

Statewide Races
Governor – Gavin Newsom
Lt. Governor – Eleni Kounalakis
Superintendent of Public Instruction – Tony Thurmond
Attorney General – Rob Bonta
Treasurer – Fiona Ma
Secretary of State – Shirley Weber
Controller – Malia Cohen
Insurance Commissioner – Ricardo Lara
Board of Equalization – District 2 Sally Lieber
Board of Equalization – District 3 Anthony Vazquez